DWI Laws in New Jersey
License Loss & Jail on DWIAs one can easily imagine, the associated fines and other penalties of a DWI conviction in New Jersey are so severe that it can negatively impact one's life.
If your occupation requires driving, you may lose your job as a consequence of license suspension. If you go to jail for a while, you may lose a relationship with your loved one. If you want to fight for your legal rights, I am the right DWI attorney in New Jersey.
Here is a table for the period of license loss and jail time when you are convicted for DWI in New Jersey.
|1st offender (0.08 = BrAC < 0.10)||3 months||Up to 30 days|
|1st offender (BrAC = 0.10)||7-12 months||Up to 30 days|
|2nd offender||2 years||Up to 90 days|
|3rd offender||10 years||Mandatory 180 days|
One should note that the penalties and fines are determined by a court. There is also an IDRC (alcohol class) attendance for 1st, 2nd, 3rd and subsequent offenders. Also, community service is required for 2nd offenders.